Quote Image - Desktop Image
Quote Image- Mobile Image
Email pink icon
Get the Daily Inspiration in your inbox

By subscribing to Inspiring Quotes you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Saturday, March 13, 2021
You must love in such a way that the person you love feels free.
Separator icon
Thich Nhat Hanh

In his book "True Love: A Practice for Awakening the Heart," the Vietnamese monk Thich Nhat Hanh elaborates on the brahmavihārās, a series of four virtues and corresponding meditation practices made to cultivate them. Of the first — maitri, or loving-kindness — Thich Nhat Hanh writes that, because “understanding is the essence of love,” one must practice being attentive, looking deeply, and understanding one’s beloved. The second virtue is karuna, or compassion, which involves not just the desire to ease another’s pain, but the ability to do so. Third, mudita roughly translates to empathetic joy: “If there is not joy in love,” Thich Nhat Hanh writes, “it is not true love.” Of the fourth, upeksha, or equanimity, he observes, “In true love, you attain freedom. When you love, you bring freedom.”

Play more header background
Play more icon
Daily Question
Fill in the blank: "He who has ___ disturbs neither himself nor another." - Epicurus
More Inspiration
Featured Articles